Last weeks training

This past week was spent training in Gran Canaria. Going to the canary islands is very popular with Icelanders- going either to a set training camp or just with other athletes. The main focus is put on biking in the mountains. However, I just went with my family and friends and put the main focus on running. It was really nice to escape the cold in Iceland and get the chance to train in a warm climate. Most of the runs I was doing were hill repeats which were actually a lot of fun. The views did not disappoint which likely made the runs seem easier. The first couple days I was really sore after running the steep mountain roads. The mountain roads made it a bit difficult to do some of the interval sets I had. One of the days I found myself running back and forth on a 200 meter fairly flat road about 30 times just so I could complete my set of 8x 2 min sprints with 1 min recovery. I ended up doing the second half of the weeks training at night because Gran canaria was hit with a heat wave and we were seeing temps up to 35 degrees Celsius during the day. I remember finishing one run in the morning at around 9:30 am and it was already 27 degrees. I was dehydrating every 15 mins. Hydration was a very critical part of my routine on those days I trained in the morning. I am really looking forward to going back to this area and doing more training and would want to try and brave the heat and do some long bike rides.

Leave a comment